1. The Library will be open from 9am - 4pm Mondays to Thursdays during term time and 9am - 3pm on Fridays and during vacation.

2. Library facilities are open to all members of the Legal profession for a small fee.

3. A lending service will operate for all students of the Law School. Law students of Fourah Bay College will be allowed to use the library for reference purposes only upon payment of a membership fee.

4. The normal loan period for books shall be one week after which all books borrowed must be returned to the Library. However, certain texts will only be available on a short-term loan. Books in the restricted Access collection will be available for reference only.

5. Not more than two (2) books may be borrowed at any one time.

6. Books may be renewed for a further one week at the discretion of the Librarian.

7. A fine which shall be decided by Council from time to time will be charged for all overdue books.

8. All Bags, Briefcases etc. Must be deposited at the issue desk at the entrance.

9. There shall be no smoking or eating in the Library.

10. Every user must first complete a Library Membership form and submit the same together with two (2) passport-size photographs after which he/she will be issued a Library Ticket which will enable him/her to use the Library.

11. All students must produce their identity cards before using Library facilities.

12. SILENCE must be strictly observed in the Library at all times.

13. Users should always enquire from the Library staff about whatever book or publication they may require as some of the Library stock are in the 'Restricted Access Collection or in the store.

All lost books will be paid for in full at the current price.

The Council of Legal Education under section 6 of the 1989 Act is ordained as:

Legal Education Provider

Conduct or cause to be conducted professional training courses and examinations


Appointment of a Board of the Law School, a Director of the Law School, academic and other staff

Awarding Body

Issue a Certificate of Call to the Bar on satisfactory completion of the professional training course.


Evaluate courses of study provided by and accord appropriate recognition of legal qualifications obtained in other institutions

Members of The Council of Legal Education.

1. Hon. Chief Justice Hon. Justice Nicholas Browne-Marke - Chairman

2. Mohamed Lamin Tarawally Esq – Attorney General & Minister of Justice

3. Dr Abu Bakarr Bangura - Director Sierra Leone Law School (Secretary)

4. Robert B. Kowa - Solicitor General & Rep. of Attorney and Minister of Justice

5. Hon. Justice Alusine Sesay - Justice of the Supreme Court

6. Hon. Prof. H. M. Joko-Smart

7. Prof. Foday Sahr - Vice Chancellor of the University of Sierra Leone

8. Prof. Babatunde Karim – Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences & Law (F.B.C)

9. Pastor Sahr Foday - Rep. Ministry of Education

10. Mr Leslie Thomas - Rep. Employers Federation

11. Mrs. Tuma Adama Gento-Kamara - Rep. Bar Association

12. Mr Floyd Davies Esq.- Rep. Bar Association

Contact Us

If you have any questions or need more information about the Sierra Leone Law School, please feel free to contact us. We are here to help and are always happy to hear from prospective students, alumni, and others interested in our institution. You can reach us by phone, email, or by filling out the contact form.

Sierra Leone Law School

Special Court, Jomo Kenyatta Rd, Freetown

Social Handles

©1989 - 2024 Council Of Legal Education Sierra Leone Law School